Tuesday 9:45am

So…it is Tuesday.  The day following my meeting where Supervisor Don where he suggested that I make a list of everything I have to do with a date to do it by on a whiteboard I discovered Astrid.  Astrid is a to-do-list program that takes the tasks from my computer and nags me from somewhere in the cloud via my android to do what I said I was going to do when I said I was going to do it.  

‘Excuse me!  You said you were going to finish entering the papers for your lit review today.  Have you done it yet?’  “What are you doing right now?  You said you would email Professor X to arrange a meeting to discuss self regulation in preschoolers.’  

Not only that, but you can customise the program to send emails to significant other parties.  I set it up to send emails to my husband at work – just to see how and whether it worked and can’t work out how to delete him.  For the past week it has been a variant of the same amused greeting,  ‘Hello, so, I see you finally input the papers for your lit review today – good for you.’  I am sure this will start wear thin soon.  And Astrid is far better than my old system of writing notes on anything that came to hand and losing them as quickly as they were written.   And there she goes again…I just wish I didn’t feel like I was 11-years-old.  Or maybe I do… 

Leave a Reply

